Los Angeles Free Music Society - LAFMS 13LP-Box 28095
[The Box]

Los Angeles Free Music Society - LAFMS 13LP-Box 28095
Box set of 13 vinyl LPs, 52 page full color book, 3 posters, download card. Edition of 500

"LAFMS BOX BOX documents every performance from the exhibition Beneath the Valley of the Lowest Form of Music - The Los Angeles Free Music Society 1972-2012 at The Box, Los Angeles in 2012. The Los Angeles Free Music Society (LAFMS) is an experimental music collective founded by artists and musicians in Pasadena, California in the early 1970s. Continuously active for 40+ years, they have released over 25 albums on their LAFMS label and have released or appeared on hundreds of albums on various labels all over the world. In 2012, their work was the subject of a major exhibition at The Box that included photographs, visual art work, home-made instruments, recordings, ephemera, film & video. For the six week duration of the show, the gallery hosted many unforgettable concerts that captured the attitude and range of musical styles embodied by the LAFMS. Art directed and designed by Tom Recchion and featuring photography by Fredrik Nilsen, this 13 LP box set contains every performance that occurred during the exhibition. Each group is represented by an entire LP side. Comes in a full-color box and includes three posters, a 52-page full color book and a download card.

Opening Reception Improvisation: Dennis Duck, John Duncan, Ace Farren Ford, Joseph Hammer, Mike Kelley, Fredrik Nilsen, Joe Potts, Rick Potts, Tom Recchion, Vetza

Artificial Art Ensemble: Ted Byrnes, Ace Farren Ford, Mars Pharoah Ford, Oddrocker Orlando Greenhill, Michael Intriere; The Tenses: Oblivia & Ju Suk Reet Meate; Tom Recchion

The Doo-Dooettes: Dennis Duck, Fredrik Nilsen, Tom Recchion; Le Forte Four: Joe Potts & Rick Potts; Smegma: Dennis Duck, Ace Farren Ford, Mars Pharoah Ford, Ju Suk Reet Meate, Oblivia, Vetza

Airway: Ted Byrnes, Dennis Duck, Ace Farren Ford, Juan Gomez, Joseph Hammer, Kevin Laffey, Fredrik Nilsen, Joe Potts, Rick Potts, Tom Recchion, Vetza

Ace & Duck / Artificial Art Ensemble: Ted Byrnes, Dennis Duck, Ace Farren Ford, Oddrocker Orlando Greenhill, Michael Intriere

Dinosaurs With Horns: Joseph Hammer & Rick Potts; Vetza & Joe Potts

Dolphin Explosion: Colette Weber Shaw & Ariel West with Dani Tull

Marnie Weber's F For Ache: Doug Harvey, Dani Tull, Marnie Weber; Eddie Ruscha, Jim Shaw, Dani Tull

Extended Organ: Paul McCarthy, Fredrik Nilsen, Joe Potts, Tom Recchion, with prerecorded XO contributions by Mike Kelley

Feedback Waveriders: Antony DiGennaro, Michael Jon Fink, Paul McCarthy, Chas Smith, Brian Walsh; Artzenkraft: John Lewis

Small Drone Orchestra: Don Lewis & Eddie Nervo

Destroy Date: Eddie Nervo

Points Of Friction: Tim Alexander, Damian Bisciglia, Mitchell Brown, Joseph Hammer, Albert Ortega

Rick Potts (on altered turntables between sets)

The Jrks: Joe Berardi, Kira Vollman, Rich West

Joe & Joe: Joseph Hammer & Joe Potts

Oolies: Tom Boram, Mitchell Brown, J.P. Jenkins Rahdlines: Nate Archer & Aaron Coye.