Trevor Wishart - The Vox Cycle CDR 23628
[Orpheus the Pantomime]

Trevor Wishart - The Vox Cycle CDR 23628
The six pieces which make up The Vox Cycle are a landmark in contemporary vocal composition and Vox 5 in particular, is widely recognised as one of the classics of electro-acoustic music.

The discs are home-burned & signed by Wishart!

"In 1980 I decided to write a cycle of 6 vocal pieces dealing with many different aspects of what it means to be 'human', and using the voice as the focus for this exploration. The new piece 'VOX', would begin with the sounds of the creation as suggested in various creation myths from around the world (VOX 1), and lead eventually to the disintegration of human society (VOX 4). In between these two poles, VOX2 would deal with contemplation of the natural world, and VOX3 with the excitement of intellectual exploration itself (through the use of increasingly elaborate rhythmical games). When I embarked on this project I had no idea that it would occupy me for the next 8 years!

Manufacturer Info
Other products